Prague in Pictures




Prague, a set on Flickr.

Given the number of photos I took in Prague, I think it’s safe to assume I LOVED this city.

Despite warnings of being pickpocketed, we were quite safe and lost nothing along the way.

Things are more expensive in Prague than we expected, but we are spoiled by living in Budapest where everything except petrol is cheap.

We just walked and walked in Prague, admiring all the architecture and soaking up the sun. There are so many things we could have done that we didn’t, so we will just have to go back – the church made of bones just outside the city, and the town of Cesky Krumlov too. I would also like to see more of the Jewish memorials and the synagogues.

We headed up to Prague Castle on Wednesday and spent about 3 hours there, going in and out of various chapels, churches, palaces and other assorted fancy old buildings.

My favourite was the Rosenberg Palace, which attempted to recreate palace life in the 1800s. Let’s face it, anything that gives me insight into how life worked pre-running-water or electricity is fascinating to me. I even took a photo of a toilet, thinking momentarily that it was a record player. Honestly, for someone who has acquired two degrees and teaches others professionally, I do worry about my own intellect at times.

I rubbed statues for luck, ate more meat that I ever have in my life, drank beer like I was back in university and poor, avoided sunburn and said, “wow!” an awful lot.

Fan-bloody-tastic city.

Enjoy the photos.

PS: We stayed in a very cute hotel right in the middle of town – managed to get cheap rates on Agoda.com (about $60AUD per night, instead of the usual 160 Euros)

About SKR

30-something Australian who happened to live in Budapest for 8 months in 2012. Returned for a holiday in 2014 & 2015. Became a mum in 2016.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Czech Republic, Photography, Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Prague in Pictures

  1. These are lovely shots =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

