Italy, Day 5 – Day trip to Florence

I’ve dreamed of visiting Florence and when I woke up yesterday, I really wasn’t excited – I’ve been feeling off colour since Cinque Terre (maybe the seafood?) and trekking around a city wasn’t what I felt like doing.
Still, we headed in and walked down from Piazzale Michelangiolo, through narrow streets, past gorgeous wooden doors, hundreds of bikes and scooters, locals with their dogs, tiny shops and galleries towards Ponte Vecchio, the famous bridge with shops across it. Every shop sold jewellery! Difficult not to dawdle at every window admiring gemstones and filigree silver.
The rain sprinkled us for about 20 minutes (long enough for me to buy yet another umbrella from a hawker – useless) then stopped. It was a grey morning but fined up to show some blue skies.
We visited the Duomo and went inside; a huge church, hundreds of people crowding around, clamoring for photos. I wanted to see the artwork inside the dome. Impressive. Depiction of heaven, earth and hell was so detailed on such a difficult ‘canvas’.
The rest of the church, I hate to say, was not as ornate as others I’ve seen, though this one is much older than most I’ve visited in Europe so far.
(And honestly, after la Sagrada Familia in Barcelona, no church will impress me that much ever again!)

We ate, we walked, we took photos and then I felt as though I might keel over, so we headed back to Pian di Scò to the villa and I slept the nausea off.

Bit disappointed but we’ll be back. Italy is a favourite and this won’t be my only time here. I’ll make sure of it.

20120915-164253.jpg

20120915-164314.jpg

20120915-164414.jpg

20120915-164440.jpg

20120915-164402.jpg

20120915-164344.jpg

20120915-164422.jpg

(I took stacks of photos on my camera; these are just a few iPhone pics.)

About SKR

30-something Australian who happened to live in Budapest for 8 months in 2012. Returned for a holiday in 2014 & 2015. Became a mum in 2016.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Florence, Italy, Photography, Photos, Places, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Italy, Day 5 – Day trip to Florence

  1. Pingback: Italy, Day 5 – Day trip to Florence | Home Far Away From Home

  2. Imádtam Firenzét amikor voltam, érdemes felmenni a Michelangelo térre, onnan gyönyörű kilátás nyilik az egész városra 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

